General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Disassembling Driver's Seat

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 01:47 AM
Default Disassembling Driver's Seat

Hi! I have a 2003 4 cyl/4 door EX. I got in the other day, heard a small "pop", and the lumbar support was suddenly broken =( The handle is now loose and there is no effect when I move it. I was thinking I would try removing the back panel of the seat (cloth, not leather) to see if I could figure out what was broken, instead of taking it to the dealer and paying an arm and a leg for the diagnosis. Does anyone know how to remove the back panel of the driver's seat? I have some experience with minor maintenence (changing a headlight, cabin air filter, etc.), but I don't want to go ripping off the back of the seat without knowing where the panel attaches. I didn't see anything about this issue in the manual. Any tips would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Old 08-15-2011, 01:54 AM
Default P.S.

I wasn't sure which category this question falls under (new user!), so feel free to tell me where to move this post if I'm in the wrong place here! Thanks! =)

Old 08-15-2011, 02:10 AM
Super Moderator

This is the correct place to post. If you open the common DIY thread which is the second post in the general tech help forum, there is a link for online shop manuals. In Desert Honda's post, there is a link for an 03 shop manual that you have to use Internet explorer to use the manual. Under the body section, it will show you how to disassemble the front seat.

Another route is to buy a shop manual. The site automanualsource.com has an 03-07 manual for $21.99 that you can download as a pdf. It is worth the investment if you plan on DIY work in my opinion.

If the lumbar support broke, you may not be able to access it from the back.