General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1996 Accord with a no start problem but has a new battery

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 04:21 PM
Exclamation 1996 Accord with a no start problem but has a new battery

So im a newbie to the forums. But i do know my fair share of cars. I have a 96 accord ex 4cyl. This morning it started and ran fine. I come home this afternoon to start it to go somewhere and no start/no electrical period. I jumped it with the family SUV and it started.(no starter problem) The battery was replace september 2010(last month). I got the battery tested and its fine. But i try to start it up for AAP(Advance Auto parts) to continue the test and no start again. also if it means anything the lights for gear select flash for about 5 seconds but stop and during that time the clicker for hazards also click but the hazards dont flash. Any ideas?

Old 10-25-2010, 05:48 PM
Administrator
Arrow

Did you check battery cables for cracks and corrision before you put them back on...?
Also Maybe starter solenid not good
Also Bad ignition switch....

There are other things to check also..get a haynes maint book from AutoZone...

Attached Images  
Old 10-25-2010, 05:56 PM
Super Moderator

Is there a security system installed on your car other than the anti-theft for the radio that was stock with the car?

Old 10-28-2010, 05:10 PM

Originally Posted by WheelBrokerAng
Did you check battery cables for cracks and corrision before you put them back on...?
Also Maybe starter solenid not good
Also Bad ignition switch....

There are other things to check also..get a haynes maint book from AutoZone...

the cables are fine and i doubt the starter. prolly isnt ign switch either.
i think its ICU. has anyone ever had problems with their ICU's? it apparently controls the dash stuff.

Old 10-28-2010, 05:10 PM

Originally Posted by PAhonda