General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

97 Accord / Radiator Fan doesn't work unless Air Conditioning is on. PLS HELP

Old 07-01-2008, 05:59 PM
scansbar
Unregistered
Default 97 Accord / Radiator Fan doesn't work unless Air Conditioning is on. PLS HELP

Guys,Thegarage can't seem to figure this one out so any advise would be amazing since I got to travel to Boston this weekend.Here is a little back ground (please keep in mind that I'm a rookie so bare with me)I have a 1997 Honda Accord with Air conditioning. It has an air conditioning fan and a Radiator fan.My radiator fan does not come on when my car reaches a very hot temperature. It will only turn on (work) if I turn on the Car's Air Conditioning and then both fans will work.If my car is hot and I turn off the car and remove my keys, the Radiator fan will come on (work) until it is cool but as soon as I start the car the fan does not work.If anyone has an idea, I left my car at the garage in hope that I can suggest a few things as they are doing some research as well and need to give them some possible solutions by Wednesday.I know that they should figure this out but I don't have time to bring it anywhere else and judging by some feedbacks on this site some foks know 110% more that these mechanics. If you know the solution and can provide some tips I swear I will take my car to your place or who ever you recommend but this time I'm stuck with these folks and dont' feel like spending $$$ to rent a car since I'm already in the whole.THANK YOU, honestly thank you.[/align]

Old 07-01-2008, 09:24 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: 97 Accord / Radiator Fan doesn't work unless Air Conditioning is on. PLS HELP

It is likely the engine coolant temperature sensor (ECT) A or the wiring. The ECT sensor that is on top of the thermostat housing that controls the fans when the car is running. It is very simple to replace.